PDA

View Full Version : New to dungeon crawl, advice please!

brightblade
22-11-2010, 19:35
I am a total noob when it comes to 'dungeon crawl' games. Never played one, never known anyone who has. I used to read white dwarf back in the 1990's, loved looking at the scenarios and always liked the idea of playing.

Unfortunately none of my gaming circle played then, it was pure rpg or rogue trader and fantasy. I could never afford to buy both Advanced Heroquest and Hulk so I plumped for Hulk. Now I am older, I fancy giving dungeon crawl a go, Not just because it always appealed to me for fantasy/story/gaming fun but the modelling side has lots of variety to to it too.

So. Which is the best ruleset? Advanced Heroquest? Warhammer Quest? Descent?

What shall I buy? And where from? Is it ebay only? Or are there secret stashes around? What should I expect to pay?

I would value any advice as my wife says she will try to get me a 'surprise' crimbo present!

Bring it on! I apologise for my ignorance! :p

Melvaius
22-11-2010, 21:01
I reckon Descent would be your best bet, it is essentially heroquest for the 21st Century. That said I think you can still obtain the rules for heroquest online, so with a little creativity and time you could get together the miniatures from existing ranges. That said it seems D&D 4th Edition has leanings towards the Dungeon Crawl style of gaming, what with the reliance on miniatures and the seemingly dumbed down rules.

BigRob
22-11-2010, 21:25
Right, IMO

Heroquest: Great great beer and pizza nostalgia. Costly on the eBay but lovely parts and some great (expensive) expansions. Be prepaired to pay but there is plenty of stuff on the web, make sure you get a copy of the "winter edition" magazine thing with the Traps expansion, very much fun.