PDA

View Full Version : Middle-Earth: a land of magic or a land of magicians?

Shas'o Gavner'Elan
26-11-2010, 19:24
I enjoyed the Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit and, although I have not read any other Middle-Earth books, I have some knowledge in its interesting and very detailed history.

However, what I can't figure out is whether or not recent LOTR games (Conquest, War in the North, Online etc.) are accurate in the fact thast they suggest wizards and mages are common across the world. I got the impression from the books and movies that wizards are rare and idolized figures, while games and certain stories make them seem relatively common, like magic-wielders in the Warhammer World.

I like to think that Gandalf, Radagast and Saruman were not the only major wizards in Middle-Earth at the end of the Third Age, but at the same time am not keen on the idea of magicians everywhere!

So what does everyone think?

lotrchampion
26-11-2010, 22:45
Tolkien's idea of magic is very different to that of WH or other similar fantasy settings. It mostly seems to be simply a use of skills beyond the knowledge of other men - for example, Gandalf's Fireworks. I can imagine that there is an element of mysticism to them, but a lot of it is simply a knowledge of explosives. The "healing hands of a king" can be explained simply by the education of the Royal House in the use of certain plants and herbs in healing, as discovered by the Elves. However, there are times when we see more obvious magic unleashed - the main example being Gandalf vs the Balrog. The Istari were forbidden from showing off their powers more obviously except in dire circumstances -fighting a demon of the ancient world just about makes it.