PDA

View Full Version : Your first time.

TheYoungin
04-01-2011, 08:56
Hey, I've been gaming for around 5 years now, and thinking back I can still remember walking into games workshop with my dad when i was around 8 years old and looking around at all the cool models. 4 years later when I was twelve I bought the 6th ed starter set and started playing orcs.

So my question is to you, what's your very first experience with warhammer.?

dragonet111
04-01-2011, 09:10
I began with the RPG.

My friends were already playing Fantasy Battle and they bought Mordheim, I bought a band of Marienburger but soon change my mind for Sisters of Sigmar. I instantly loved the game and choose to start Fantasy Battle. I choose Bretonnian but the army was way to expensive for me so I started my second choice army, Realm of Chaos. Never regretted that choice.

djpringle
04-01-2011, 09:12
I actually struggle to remember how I got into all this :( I do remember getting the old Citadel box sets in the early 80's and using the minis for D&D and such like. How Warhammer 2nd edition turned up I don't know? Might have been a present but it certainly opened the flood gates for figure buying, painting and gaming in general afterwards. My first army was orcs as well but cannot remember why I went down that route, think they were in a Citadel sale or something.
I actually tend to remember the board games from the 80's better than Warhammer :)

Evil Hypnotist
04-01-2011, 09:32
Dusting off a box of 40k 2nd ed. from my mate's shelf and asking "What the hell is this?" :P A read of the books and purchasing Ezikiel of the Dark Angels not long after got me hooked.

dragonet111
04-01-2011, 09:39
I have to add that my favorite game is 40k. I started 40k maybe one year after starting Fantasy Battle.

tezdal
04-01-2011, 09:46