PDA

View Full Version : Characters, Nasty Skulkers and Command Group



stashman
08-07-2011, 18:27
I started a discussion about Nasty Skulkers with a friend. We are to play next tuesday and we wan't to clear this out.

6 wide goblin unit

First rank = champion, standard, musician, 2 characters and a rank-n-file gobbo

Combat First turn = Skulkers Revealed and act as charcters

So First rank is like this = 2 characters, champion and 3 skulkers???

My friend says that command group never leave front rank, but according to rules in BRB p.92 says: "Any models that make up a units command group must be placed in the front rank of the unit, unless there is no room for them to fit"

Skulkers work just like a character joining a unit.

Help us out!

T10
08-07-2011, 19:12
The controlling player decides. He choses which models go in the first rank.

Yrrdead
08-07-2011, 19:27
Your friend is correct in that command will remain in the front rank period. The only way for there not to be room is if your formation doesn't allow it. (ie 1 or 2 models wide with FC)

Like T10 said the controlling player can decide which characters will occupy the remaining 3 spots.

EDMM
08-07-2011, 19:33
And then, in the combat phase (oh wait, we're in the combat phase), the Nasty Skulkers can Make Way to the front rank, displacing whichever command models they prefer.

stashman
08-07-2011, 19:34
From Da-Warpath


Nice idea but it cant actually be done with a full command group, as characters aren't allowed to replace command in front ranks, nor can Skulkers replace anything other than rank and file models, which command groups aren't.


They may not replace them when joining, but they may Make Way when the combat starts- and Make Way lets you change places even with the command group.


Correct. It's all about the Make Way rule. If you double check on that, you will see that command groups can be moved to the 2nd rank. Any character that starts in combat CANNOT be moved to the 2nd rank, though. So, you can only displace command to move them up. You cannot save a shaman or BSB by moving them back as I originally wanted to.

Artiee
11-07-2011, 20:45
Have to love the same question on muiltple forums. When they "jump out" they displace any non-command groups, and then go in the next rank if thier is not any. Then since they are a charater they can Make Way to the front rank, displacing the command group.

decker_cky
11-07-2011, 20:47
Have to love the same question on muiltple forums. When they "jump out" they displace any non-command groups, and then go in the next rank if thier is not any. Then since they are a charater they can Make Way to the front rank, displacing the command group.

Correction....they displace any non-command, non-character models. They can make way afterwards.