PDA

View Full Version : Some Vampire Counts Questions



Goldenwolf
27-03-2013, 21:29
Gents, any polite replies would be appreciated.

If a Vampire has the Master Strike rule, and the Sword of Striking, does this allow him to use the Sword in his to hit roll if he uses the Master Strike?

How far can Leadership mods stack? If I have -3 from a spell, and 3 vamps to reduce leadership, can I take a LD 5 unit to -1?

All of the Death Shriek attacks add up as shooting attacks, so that a character would be the last one affected, and killed by them correct? or could someone allocate wounds to the character if they so choose?

Can Fear combined with anything else reduce the WS of an enemy unit to 0? or is 1 the lowest it can go?

Can a unit of Hexwraiths Charge through one enemy unit to hit another, while using their special ability on the first unit to cause wounds?

Thank You

Artiee
27-03-2013, 21:43
1) Yes
2) No. Cannot go below 0. BRB pg 3. 1st Para under Characterics of Models.
3) Its distributed as form shooting. (is not shooting attack but a special attack in shooting phase). As long as there are 5 RnF (rank and file) models left (not including the Champion), all wounds wounds go against the RnF models (including the champ last). The rest is lost. If there is less than 5 RnF (not including the Champion). Then the wounds are distributed evenly. All models would need to have a wound before a 2nd wound is applyed.

ex. Death Shriek does 12 wounds to a unit with a character and 6 RnF models (with champion). The 12 wounds is distributed to all the RnF. The extra 6 wounds are lost.

4) No. Fear brings them down to WS 1.
5) No. The Soulstriders rule only in effect during Remaining Moves sub-phase. (And during Vanhels Danse Macabre Spell)

woodster17
27-03-2013, 22:54
Hexwraith's aren't rigidly stuck to moving through just one unengaged enemy unit. Now the Soulstriders rule dictates that they can't finish the remaining moves sub-phase within 1' of an enemy unit but the Spectral Hunters rule states that it is indeed possible to move through more than one if the distance allows. Only one is allowed to be nominated for the Strength 5 hits as dictated by the Spectral Hunters rule though so it's possible to assault the second unit via the Spectral Hunter rule but the first wouldn't suffer any hits with the Hexwraiths moving through them.

AntaresCD
27-03-2013, 23:01
3) Its distributed as form shooting. (is not shooting attack but a special attack in shooting phase). As long as there are 5 RnF (rank and file) models left (not including the Champion), all wounds wounds go against the RnF models (including the champ last). The rest is lost. If there is less than 5 RnF (not including the Champion). Then the wounds are distributed evenly. All models would need to have a wound before a 2nd wound is applyed.

ex. Death Shriek does 12 wounds to a unit with a character and 6 RnF models (with champion). The 12 wounds is distributed to all the RnF. The extra 6 wounds are lost.

The correct answer is close to that: you distribute the hits then roll to wound (a technicality only for things that automatically wound) as normal against the appropriate stats (i.e. the model hit).

The procedure for all standard shooting (and distributed as shooting) attacks is first you check if there are 5 rank and file in the unit (a champion does not count). If yes, then all the hits are allocated against the rank and file (remember that while you can't pick out the champion that way, you can overflow into the champion). If no, then the person who controls the unit that was shot at allocates the hits to the models in the unit as they chose as long as every model in the unit has one hit before a second is assigned to a model, two hit before a third is assigned, etc.

You can find the rules in the BRB on page 99 (distributing with characters) and on page 93 (not being able to hit the champion will even one rank and file lives and being able to remove the champion if he is the only one left).

gorblud
29-03-2013, 22:29
dark majesty says that all enemy units within 6" of one OR MORE vampires with the aura of dark majesty suffer a -1 penalty to their leadership.

So Aura of Dark Majesty cannot stack with other Aura of Dark Majesty though it does stack with spells such as doom and darkness (I think that's its name? the one that does -3ld)

Example: a unit is affected by doom and darkness, so their leadership is reduced by 3. A vampire with dark majesty moves within 6". The unit is now at -4ld. A billion other vampires move within 6". The unit still only suffers -4.

Goldenwolf
30-03-2013, 06:32
Thank you gentlemen