PDA

View Full Version : Lizardmen, dwarfs or wood elves? help me choose.

Boss Zagstruk
03-04-2014, 20:22
Hi guys. Im looking to start a small warhammer army to get back into the hobby after 2 years out. I want to aim for a 1500pt army but i also want to get back into painting. Im a slow painter but enjoy it once I get into the swing of it. Anywho I have 3 choices id like to pursue LM, Dwarfs and WE. I just cant choose and I dont want to buy a book n then not like the army book.

I like lizardmen for the monsters/dinos. I dunmo if I could fit many into my points scale though. I like that theyve got a solid core but also cheap infantry in skinks. I do like toughness 4 and a good armour save. However im wondering how competitive the new army is? Ive heard mixed reviews. Also and I may be wrong but is the lizardmen fluff a little boring? They do seem to lack personality and ready the army book usually gets me in the right mind to collect an army.

As for dwarfs I love the models, old and new. The lords and hero's models are so characterful. I could spend hours on ebay looking for different models. Ive heard the rulebook is solid but im put off by movement 3 and the lack of veriety in the unit selection. Infantry and warmachines only :( or can this be overcome by army design?

Wood elves, now hear me out... I love the models in this range. I want to paint an autumn themed army. I figure if im lucky I can have a good looking core army by the time they decide to release a new army book. Would you risk it?

Would love to hear your insight. Thanka

SpanielBear
03-04-2014, 21:16
Lizardmen are cool. However, they do lack some personality- ranks of Saurus clones and inscrutable frogs. And yes, at your points level you may struggle to fit in many dinosaurs.