PDA

View Full Version : Dwarven Holds of the Crimson Peaks (T9A Celtiberians)



Karak Norn Clansman
04-04-2019, 10:07
https://i.imgur.com/RxoCryh.jpg

Dwarf of the Crimson Peaks (https://www.the-ninth-age.com/index.php?thread/45874-dwarven-holds-of-the-crimson-peaks-t9a-celtiberians/)

The Crimson Peaks of southwestern Vetia in the Ninth Age, corresponding to the Pyrenees mountain range, is a chance to once and for all correct Warhammer Fantasy's error of having virtually no Dwarf presence at all in the mountains of their version of Iberia, namely Estalia (https://warhammerfantasy.fandom.com/wiki/Estalia). These wild mountains could be filled with Human highlanders, monsters, Orcs & Goblins, and minor Dwarven Holds. The Dwarrows of the Crimson Peaks could be based on the ancient (https://europabarbarorum.fandom.com/wiki/Dunaminica_(Celtiberian_Heavy_Infantry)) Celtiberians (http://www.ancientpages.com/2018/06/21/celtiberians-intriguing-martial-culture-and-their-skilled-warrior-infantry/) (connecting to the Celtic basis of many Vetian Dwarves), whose lengthy resistance to Rome finally ended with the great siege (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siege_of_Numantia) of the oppidum Numantia. Like the Dwarven Holds of the Maidens (https://www.the-ninth-age.com/index.php?thread/45708-dwarven-holds-of-the-maidens/) mountain range, the Crimson Peak Dwarves would be on the periphery of Vetian Dwarfkind, yet fully part of this region's culture of shared Dwarven technology, having thus essentially the same equipment for war. The aeshtetic style and dialect of the Crimson Peak Dwarves would however be distinct.


https://i.imgur.com/2hnM0cX.jpg

Just remember that relentless Dwarves do not even know what siesta is!


Please share your ideas, comments and criticism for this quick Dwarven culture proposal. :)


Reference images (https://imgur.com/a/GsaiZaL):

https://i.imgur.com/TKurmOB.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/rMgiHnY.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/QuCHYIq.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/LbiOaWi.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/B7pvnAm.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/QG4zpn1.jpg


See also:
Dwarven Holds of the Maidens (https://www.the-ninth-age.com/index.php?thread/45708-dwarven-holds-of-the-maidens/) (T9A Celts)
Dwarven Holds of the Crimson Peaks (https://www.the-ninth-age.com/index.php?thread/45874-dwarven-holds-of-the-crimson-peaks-t9a-celtiberians/) (T9A Celtiberians)
Nekoshim: Dwarven Holds of the Copper Mountains (https://www.the-ninth-age.com/index.php?thread/38162-dwarven-holds-of-the-copper-mountains-t9a-nabateans/) (T9A Nabateans)
Dwarven Holds of the Wrathful Mountains (https://www.the-ninth-age.com/index.php?thread/45099-dwarven-holds-of-the-wrathful-mountains-t9a-inca/) (T9A Inca)
Lost Islander Dwarves (https://www.the-ninth-age.com/index.php?thread/45606-lost-islander-dwarfs-t9a-rapa-nui/) (T9A Rapa Nui)
Karuits: Polar Dwarves of Remotest Silexia (https://www.the-ninth-age.com/index.php?thread/45262-polar-dwarves-of-remotest-silexia/) (T9A Inuits)
Cave Dwarves of the Mountains of Gold (https://www.the-ninth-age.com/index.php?thread/45635-cave-dwarves-of-the-mountains-of-gold/) (T9A Prehistorical)
Infernal Dwarves of the Torture Valleys (https://www.the-ninth-age.com/index.php?thread/45356-infernal-dwarves-of-the-torture-valleys-t9a-moche/) (T9A Moche)
Borean Elves (https://www.the-ninth-age.com/index.php?thread/43290-frost-elves-northern-sylvan-elves-based-on-finnic-tribes/) (T9A Finno-Ugrians)
Saurian Ancients of Aotarakoa (https://www.the-ninth-age.com/index.php?thread/45528-saurian-ancients-of-aotarakoa-t9a-indonesia/) (T9A Indonesia)