PDA

View Full Version : Rule doubt... damage to the unit or to the figure ?



jchaos79
17-07-2022, 22:43
Hello there,

Im starting with warhammer 40k 9 edition, and I have a basic doubt that I dont know how to deal. I hope you could lend me a hand and tell me the legal way to play. (Im not native english, sorry for the grammar, hope you understand my point).


Parragraph 1: In the ruleset I understand the combat is figure to figure (later when talk about units there is a way to go faster, including all the weapons of the same type of the unit in the same roll). But in the page 18 it states: "if a model is destroyed, any excess of damage inflicted by that attacked is lost". I could see that idea in the booklets of Imperium when the rulest game of the bibliotecary attacks to a swarm of beattles (4hits) and he make more than 4 hits, elimante a stand of beattels and state the rest of the damage of the blow is lost... ramining the other two stands of the unit on the table.

Parragraph 2: that is the idea that does not fit me with the above parragragh... if you play unit vs unit, you take all the same weapons of the attaking unit, resolve the attack, and make a pool of damage. If the attacking unit has other kind of weapon, then resolve the other weapon. With the damage you remove objective figures, and if a figure is wounded it is mandatory to start counting hits in that wounded miniature.


I particulary found this 2 parragraph (concepts) contradicotry. First parragraph leads to slow games... second parragraph make the game more speed, but I understand that the same situation could be different if you decide to resolve the combat as the first parragraph or second parragaraph.

I will try to expose an example, and please tell me how you play or how is the legal way to play WH40.000

"3 marines attack 10 necrons. Marines shoot their bolters with fast fire and inflict 4 wounds. If you resolve the situation as it state in the 18 page of the bookruset, then first marine inflict a wound and kills a necron. Second marine inflicts 1 hit and kills one necron, finally 3rd marine inflicts 2 wound kills a necron and the other wound is lost. 7 necrons remain on the table." This way of playing involves more strategy for necron player as he can try to use some easy skelletons as spounges.. sacrificing one minion to absorb massive quantities of damage deals with heavy weapons, so decision as retreat or not conforming when melee becomes very strategic.

In the other hand if you resolve the same situation thinking that the damage is a pool for the unit, then "3 marines attack 10 necrons, Marines shoot their boltes with fast fire and inflicts 4 wounds. As the necrons has 1 wound, then kills 4 necrons and 6 of them remain on table... faster game.


Im a bit confused with this topic, and Im sure im misunderstanding something ... could you please help me with this topic,

thanks in advacne,

Jorge

Rogue
18-07-2022, 03:03
Hi Jorge:

I read through that page of the free rules to see what you were referring to, and I think that I understand your question. My interpretation of the rules is as you stated below:


Hello there,

In the other hand if you resolve the same situation thinking that the damage is a pool for the unit, then "3 marines attack 10 necrons, Marines shoot their boltes with fast fire and inflicts 4 wounds. As the necrons has 1 wound, then kills 4 necrons and 6 of them remain on table... faster game.



Even though there are 3 Marines, Rapid(Fast) fire makes them attack six times. They are basically firing twice during this phase on closer targets. Every attack counts even if it is one extra than the amount of guys that you have.

jchaos79
19-07-2022, 20:28
Hi,
thanks for your respond, yes I feel like the game should play as you say... but I cant figure that how it fit with page 18 rule.

If there is more feedback or comments are appreciate just to figure out how people play.... I think warhammer 40k has lots of player... right?