PDA

View Full Version : How is GW run?

Rathgar
19-06-2005, 18:02
Forgive my ignorance, but it just struck me that I have very little knowledge of the structure of GW.

This is my understand of it: The games themselves are developed by the studio, which are the guys who come up with the ideas and stuff, and a department that contains all the artist and sculptors. The business side of things, is handled by the Directors right? And presumably there'll be a department concerned with marketing and production.

Just wondering if anyone can give me a better idea, and/or correct some of my misconceptions. How is the company structured?

No real reason behind this, just curiosity.

Strikerkc
19-06-2005, 19:04
In the deepest, darkest region of Siberia, there is a black citadel adorned by caution stripes and gargoyles fashioned from the souls of the damned. Atop the Citadel sits the great Hains, overlord of all which his blazing eyes can see. From the mouths of the gargoyles spew forth the mini's themselves, from there they are delivered by flying monkeys. Evil Flying monkeys.

Failing that, I've been lead to believe it works much as you suggest.

Brimstone
19-06-2005, 19:17
GW is run much like any other company, the design studio, manufacturing, finance, IT, legal, marketing etc.

Some of the departments are split into separate divisions, manufacturing for example.

You can find some information here. (http://investor.games-workshop.com/)

Rathgar
19-06-2005, 19:25
Thanks for the link!

I was also wondering how much of what products are put out is chosen by the directors. Do they say: "we want X number of releases this year…etc" and then the developers have to fit what they're doing around that. Or do the developers say: "we would like to work on THIS…" and the directors ok it?

Brimstone
19-06-2005, 19:34