PDA

View Full Version : questions i need answering about blood ravens and space marines in gernal.



Twilight
17-12-2006, 18:18
ok, im sorry to bother you all and i feel like right newbie askin the questions im about to ask but im a need of some vetran help.
so heres thing, i have chareters with a mix of both power armour and termie armour alike. i red in the codex that chareters with termie armour cant lead/be attached to a command squad with power armour models when deploded, and it says at the termie command that its the tother way round. so i thought hey i no two command squads! (termi and normal). now this posed many questions for my small and messed up mind to handle, so i shall share with you and see if you can enlighten me, so here we go: 1) most importantly, can i even HAVE two command squads in my army? 2) if so what would it do to the balance of my army? 3) now it dosent say i can in the codex (in fact the section confused me quite a bit, so it may of) but can i take chareters (vetran, company champ, apothecary... ect.) into my termi command?

And one last question that concers something entirly different: ive red that blood ravens' geen-seed is mutated and a result of this causes alot of phykic gifts given to marines, ive made that sure by having at least THREE libraiains in my army at the moment, but it gave me a small thought about my commander. dose anyone think i could give give HIM some phykic gifts too?

thanks for your time, feedback with be extremely appreciated, even if my questions are a bit basic or not ^^

thanks again, Twlilght ^^

Slaaneshi Slave
17-12-2006, 18:28
Normal command squads are a waste of money if you ask me. The only command squads I would touch are min sized Terminator squads, and thats just for the assault cannons. The best way of protecting your characters is give them a jump pack (if they are in Power / Artificer armour) and run them with an assault squad. Terminator characters can either be run with a Term Comd squad (4 terminators) or follow a tac squad.

As far as I know Term Comd squads cannot have specialists. Lemme check. No they can't, but they can take veteran skills.

marv335
17-12-2006, 20:27
you can't give your commander psychic powers.
sorry.
now as to the rest of the post...
you may have two Hq choices in a standard force organisation chart.
each Hq choice may select a command squad. (so you have two characters, each with a command squad/retinue)
they have some useful abilities too.
firstly, skills.
most people focus on furious assault to get their character the S and I bonus (it's possible to get an I7 librarian this way)
personally i like infiltrate
the retinue is the only way to get access to a drop pod for your character too.
you can make a nice combat unit for a character with a retinue with some nasty abilities.

12 power weapon attacks on the charge? 16 including the character

yes, it's expensive. it can, however be very potent.

Gensuke626
17-12-2006, 20:35
You can have 1 command squad per HQ character in your army with the exception of the rule of attaching characters. (ie. if you take a Librarian and attach a Chaplain to his command squad, you may not take a command squad for the Chaplain as well.)

Terminator Command Squads may not have specialists such as Techmarines and Apothecaries.

There is no legal way to fit 3 Librarians into a Space Marine army using the standard Force Organization Chart.

The only way to give a Psychic power to anything but a Librarian is to fight an army using Witch Hunter Inquisitors. I've always been a fan of "Just because I can't have it, doesn't mean I can't model it." So I'd personally represent a Psychic Force Commander using the normal FC rules and claim that his Rites of Battle ability is really a telepathic link to the marines serving under him.

The Emperor
17-12-2006, 21:13
Or you could just use a Librarian as your Commander. The Librarian and the Commander have identical stats, so I don't see what the problem would be with that. Besides, not every Space Marine Captain has Rites of Battle. It depends on the Chapter. Space Wolves Wolf Lords, for instance, don't have Rites of Battle.

And you can take three Librarians in one Force Organization Chart. Assuming one wanted a Commander and three Librarians, this is what you'd need to do.

1) Buy a Commander with a Command Squad. They take up one HQ slot. Then buy a Librarian and attach him to the Command Squad.

2) Buy a Librarian with a Command Squad. They take up the second HQ slot. Then buy a Librarian and attach him to the Command Squad.

And there you go. You can attach up to two characters to each Command Squad, although they can't be the same kind (So you can attach a Chaplain and a Librarian, but not two Librarians and two Chaplains). No rule against attaching a Chaplain to a Command Squad led by a Chaplain, or a Librarian to a Command Squad led by a Librarian, though.

Onisuzume
17-12-2006, 22:13
It depends on the Chapter. Space Wolves Wolf Lords, for instance, don't have Rites of Battle.
I thought that was FaQ'd, but then again, I don't check for new FaQs often.

There's also a WD article with minor psychic powers free for everyone to use iirc. (or at least for psykers)

And as a final option; it's possible to grab a Librarian, add an command squad and attach an librarian to it. (you could do that for both HQ choices)
Though you'd lose out on the rites of battle though. (not a big loss imo)

The Emperor
17-12-2006, 22:29
I thought that was FaQ'd, but then again, I don't check for new FaQs often.

Here's the Space Wolves Codex.

http://us.games-workshop.com/errata/assets/space_wolves_faq_v4-1.pdf

It specifically states that they don't get Rites of Battle.

Sergeant Tanthius
18-12-2006, 02:21
The maximum amount of Libbies you can get in a FoC is 4, plus if you take allies you can have a =][= with psychic powers.

as for your questions, 1) You can have one command squad per Independent Character in your army that is not a Techmarine or already attached to some other Character's Cmd Sqd. 2) Having just one squad horribly un-balances your army. You'll be tempted to take all the little shiny things they can have, and end up with a 500 point units. 3) You may only take specialists in a normal command squad, not in a Ultramarine Honour Guard or a Terminator Command Squad, unless you play Dark Angels after March. :)

Onisuzume
18-12-2006, 09:23
3) You may only take specialists in a normal command squad, not in a Ultramarine Honour Guard or a Terminator Command Squad, unless you play Dark Angels after March. :)
Or if you missed the 4th ed update. :p

Here's the Space Wolves Codex.

http://us.games-workshop.com/errata/...s_faq_v4-1.pdf

It specifically states that they don't get Rites of Battle.
I guess I must've misread that then.

Terminator Command Squads may not have specialists such as Techmarines and Apothecaries.
Techmarines aren't specialists anymore anyways.
And if someone would show up with a fully converted Terminator Command Squad, I'd let them use the Apothecary&Standard Bearer, at the points listed under the regular command squad. But only if it's a pure Deathwing army.