PDA

View Full Version : 40k Veteran ISO a WFB army to love!

Kelpi
22-12-2006, 03:32
So I'm starting Warhammer and for the life of me I cant decide on an army. I am a 40k veteran and love my Orks but I dont want to do *yet* another Ork/Orc army. If I buy Warhammer Orcs I will end up converting them to 40k and never have an army.

So I would like a Warhammer army with the same *feel* as 40k Orks but not Orcs. A wide variety of units, sort of (but not too much) underdog-ish lots of different play styles and models etc.

I think I have it narrowed down to: Skaven, The Empire and maybe High Elves but Im very open to suggestions. For philosophical reasons I'm not too keen on Dwarves, Chaos, Brettonia and of course Orcs.

What do you think?

GrandReaper
22-12-2006, 03:49
Can't get any more "Ork, but not Ork" than Beastmen. For versatility they're at the tops ( Ambushing beasts, not ambushings, heavy magic, little magic, Minotaur army, Shagoth (monster) general, etc ). You get the versatile, unique and utterly disorderly beast herds ( with more than a little ork/gobbo style interaction ). Lots of options with chariots, bestigors, warhounds, centigors, and nearly the 40mm versatility of Ogre Kingdoms, not to mention the monsters. Finally, you have access to the Chaos army list as well should you get bored and want something different ( even just to have a daemon prince lead your beasts ).

I realize it is chaos ( philisophical problem, if I'm not mistaken ). However, beasts are more of a force of nature than an orderly (you know what I mean) aspect of Chaos. Very orky, very fun, and more than capable of being the underdog (leadership 6-8 for the army anyone).

Plus, IMO the beast herd models are some of the best I've ever seen. I also like the old Bestigors. I don't play beasts myself ( I have a few, but the lizzies and ogres keep monopolizing my time ), but they seem right up your alley ( spoken as a fellow Ork - with a 'k' ).

Kelpi
22-12-2006, 04:05