PDA

View Full Version : Can the commisar upgrade go in titans?



Styles
09-03-2007, 09:48
Can the imperail guard commisar upgrade go in titans?
It seems totally unfluffy to me that titan legions would allow commissars in their titans?
Plus Im not sure if the rule includes the titan legions?

Hena
09-03-2007, 11:52
Yes. Read the Master FAQ for full answer.
http://forum.specialist-games.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=7405

Chaos and Evil
09-03-2007, 12:16
Currently they can.

Next time the armylists are updated they'll probably be denied access to Titans however, as yes, it's extremely unfluffy!

Minister
09-03-2007, 15:54
This is going back to the ol' difference between "can" and "should"...

Zingraff
10-03-2007, 14:18
The way I've chosen to interpret the rules, the Commissar rule could be used to represent any heroic character, not just Commissars as such, but should be properly represented on the infantry stand as a model in addition to any officer. The Commissar could be represented as a priest, using an old psyker model, or as an officer.

At the same time, I can't see why anyone would want to give the Commissar upgrade to a Titan.

Patriarch
12-03-2007, 20:56
At the same time, I can't see why anyone would want to give the Commissar upgrade to a Titan.

Extra macro weapon attack for the titan (at 2+ for a Warlord). Not bad seeing as its free...

Zingraff
17-03-2007, 14:02
Yes, I can see that. Seems awfully abusive of the rules, though.

Karhedron
18-03-2007, 23:29
Extra macro weapon attack for the titan (at 2+ for a Warlord). Not bad seeing as its free...
And getting to remove an extra BM for the Leader ability is handy on any unit.

mark_logue
05-05-2007, 08:42
Funny this is one of the things that I would have never contemplated even doing. Not that I have a problem with it, its just one of those things when you read the rules and you automatically start making up your own version of the rules in your head as your ideas about the fluff influence your interpretation of the rules. In our play group we had discussions about wether of not we would allow them to go in tank platoons, thinking that we would restrict them to infantry units.

orangesm
05-05-2007, 15:20
I have a tank in each of my Tank Companies painted as a Commissar Tank. I am also looking forward to the change from random number to a certain number per points.

The Ape
06-05-2007, 22:16
I am also looking forward to the change from random number to a certain number per points.

Is there a timescale for when is this likely to happen?

orangesm
07-05-2007, 00:00
It is currently under review and on the list of things that the Tac Com community is looking at, officially... who knows when.

mark_logue
07-05-2007, 12:16
Unofficially lots of people are using commisars as one per 450-500 points anyway. I am planning an Epic tournament at the moment and I am thinking of setting it for the tournament to make things easier.

Lord Inquisitor
07-05-2007, 20:15
Currently they can.

Next time the armylists are updated they'll probably be denied access to Titans however, as yes, it's extremely unfluffy!

Am I completely barking or is it not the case that the larger titans can have commissars on board? Or could at some point in history? It might be very out-of-date background, or I might simply be making things up again.

Chaos and Evil
07-05-2007, 20:58
Fluffwise, it's never been mentioned by GW.

It is purely the result of game mechanics in Epic's 4th edition, and it is 99% likely to have been an unintentional addition to the game.

Ozorik
17-05-2007, 14:49
Commissars are only found within the imperial guard and the imperial navy.
Titans are owned, built and operated by the Adeptus Mechanicus and not by the Imperium. There is no way that the Ad Mech would be happy with allowing an imperial agent with powers as great as a commissar anywhere near a titans crew unless they really had to. Having a titan princeps executed for 'cowardice' would not go down well with mars.

The Ad Mech is not part of the Imperium it is just very closely allied with it.

So from a fluff perspective, no the commissar upgrade should not be allowed for titans.

Minister
18-05-2007, 01:10
The Adeptus Mechanicus is part of the Imperium, it's just not under the authority of the Administratum. Much the same with the Marines and Inquisition.

I recall a bit in Chaos Child with Draco flagging down a Titan whilst impersonating a Commissar (having pinched the jacket off of a dying Commissar).

Ozorik
18-05-2007, 06:28
The Ad Mech has severed ties with the Imperium on at least 1 occasion. The Ad Mech can be counted as Imperial but they are not an official component of the Imperium. Unless the fluff has changed signficantly in recent years.

There would still be no Commissars on titans.

orangesm
18-05-2007, 12:44
Yes the Ad Mech is not an official component of the Imperium - in the same way that Space Marine Chapters are not part of the Imperium.

Commissars are unique to the Imperial Guard (maybe the Imperial Navy has them, but they have a slightly different role).

Now on using them on Titans in Epic, if you want to waste the benefits it can give an Infantry or Tank Formation that the Titan already has ok... but it could represent an experienced Titan Crew.

Lord Inquisitor
18-05-2007, 17:09
I recall a bit in Chaos Child with Draco flagging down a Titan whilst impersonating a Commissar (having pinched the jacket off of a dying Commissar).
Aha! Right... thank you Minister! I knew I remembered something about commissars aboard titans...