PDA

View Full Version : 3k IG list

Ozorik
21-03-2007, 23:49
Im thinking of restarting my epic IG. Ive not played since space marine though so Im totally new to E:A. This means that the list below is doubtless full of holes.

Regimental HQ attached hellhound sqn = 650

Infantry coy attached fire support plt and ogryns = 400

Mechanised infantry coy attached hydra = 450

Tank coy = 650

Storm trooper plt mounted in valkyries = 350

Super heavy coy (baneblades) = 500

I was thinking of using the infantry and super heavy coys as a defensive base. The HQ, armour and mechanised infantry would form my offensive elements while my stormtroopers would act as a fire brigade.

orangesm
22-03-2007, 02:49
I would suggest taking at least 1 Shadowsword in there to give you some definite titan killing power.

Ozorik
22-03-2007, 11:03
Would swapping all the Baneblades for shadowswords be a good idea? Could I get away with swapping 1 of the Baneblades in the super heavy coy?

I have a total lack of indirect fire weapons. How serious is this?

nealhunt
22-03-2007, 14:52
Overall, there are 2 weaknesses and 2 minor issues:
1) Lack of counters to WEs.
2) Lack of AA ability.
3) (minor) Lack of activations.
4) (minor) You have 2 formations which count for Break Their Spirit

WEs: I agree you need either a Shadowsword (or 2) or a formation of Deathstrikes.

The issue with mixing SHT types in a formation is that they have substantially different roles. Shadowswords sit back and snipe big targets, while Baneblades are shorter range and ideally should move forward to attack numerous, lighter targets. The only combo company I might go with would be 2 Shadowswords with a single Baneblade for point defense, but even then you need to use the formation aggressively to get full use from all 3 units.