PDA

View Full Version : Help with my dark elves!!!

animal64
30-03-2007, 08:02
So i am relatively new with fantasy (ive played about a total of 3 games) and i need some help expanding my dark elves force.
Currently i have the following:
5 CoKs, 11 Dark riders (i have no idea how i ended up with 11 i think i got an extra one?), 2 Reaper bolt throwers, Noble on Cold one (malus model), sorceress, and i believe around 32 spearmen.

So what should i add? I really like the executioner models, although im not sold on their abilities. would a block of 15-18 of them be a bad idea?? I was also told that warriors w/ RxBs were a good idea, but i just dont really like them, not trying to run a gunline i do enough shooting in 40k hah. Alright if anyone has any suggestions they are greatly appreciated!

Vattendroppe
30-03-2007, 08:50
According to my experience you should get around two units of 10 models with repeater crossbow. Just devastating.

Gorbad Ironclaw
30-03-2007, 09:08
RXBs with Shields are the single best unit in the DE army. You really should get a couple of units of those. If your afraid of ending up with a gunline, I'd drop the RBTs in favour of the RXBs, but 2 units of RXBs and 2 RBTs isn't anywhere near a gunline, and Dark Elves really do need a bit of shooting to thin out enemy support units.

Also, executioners are pretty good. Fairly cheap(for elves) and they pack a nice punch in a fight.

Personally I run them 21 strong, with a Banner of Murder for that extra charge range. Makes there great weapons deadly. Just don't imagine that there killing blow does anything. It's a gimmick that might prevent your opponent hitting them with characters, but rarely does it actually kill anything.

animal64
30-03-2007, 09:26
How about witch elves? how are they? they seem like, to me, to have a big ass bullseye on them esp. w/ no armour save

Gimp
30-03-2007, 10:40
Witch Elves well there very specific.