PDA

View Full Version : The Emperor's Legion - Concept

The Dark Dwarves
05-04-2007, 21:35
The making of an Army from Idea to Reality – The Emperor’s Legion
By The Dark Dwarves

About me and my overall idea
First I would like to start by describing what kind of player I am. I am new to the Warhammer 40K universe, but have been a long time Warhammer Fantasy player. I am a player who doesn’t have a lot of time for games, so they are few and far between. I am more of a painter/modeler in respect to this hobby, and my knowledge base is more theoretical and relies heavily on the work of other players that I am able to acquire thanks to the power of the internet.

*Special Thanks to The Jungle and geocities.com for inspiration and tactical insight*

Building armies is great fun and painting and conversion is one of the best aspects to the hobby – even if I do treat painting like a chore. I like to come up with interesting ideas and then try to model them on the battlefield. I can put together models and convert models all day but when it comes to painting I have to make myself and set a schedule to get it done.

The current blanket idea is a Star Wars Themed army, mainly The Empire. As I have been looking on different web pages I noticed the Star Wars theme has been done before but with Imperial Guard, or Tao. But I questioned that, as I feel the Space Marines look more like Storm Troopers then Imperial Guard or Tao guys (with the exception of a few models). So I have become a Space Marine player simply by the look of their models. But I don’t just want an army of Space Marines painted to look like Storm Troopers. I wanted to make my army distinct and stand out not just to look like a Storm Trooper Army and after reading how to Make your Army Distincton The Jungle I decided to really pursue the idea and tailor it to my needs.

Why all the planning?