PDA

View Full Version : A newbie question - Tactics in 40K

Wrks
11-04-2007, 18:09
Hello,

I'm new to the game and was discussing something with a friend who plays Fantasy in a gaming club which I eventually would like to join, and he told me that he and most players (not all) in the gaming club prefer Fantasy over 40K because 40K lacks tactics. He also said that players who play both Fantasy and 40K say that 40K eventualy just comes down to a big shoot-out and rolling a bunch of dices, without much tactics... I kinda found that hard to believe so I'd like to check what you guys think about that?

tuebor
11-04-2007, 18:29
I think a lot of this opinion comes from how people play 40k. Far too often I see two almost identical Space Marine armies slugging it out in a straight Victory Points battle with sparse terrain. When this is occurring it does come down largely to dice rolls. However, with the addition of additional terrain and, most importantly, missions 40k becomes a lot more tactical.

For quite some time my gaming group played only these sparsely terrained Victory Point battles. I would react to this by building static gunline IG lists that weren't all that fun to play or play against. I would roll dice at them until they got to me and then they would roll dice at me. Boring. However, after we started using missions and more terrain I had to move a great deal more and my opponents had a harder time reaching me in close combat in great enough numbers through all the terrain.

To sum up, 40k is boring without missions and terrain. Fantasy, on the other hand requires less terrain and is just as tactical without missions.

tommy
11-04-2007, 18:31
Here's the simple answer:

If there were no tactics in 40k then there wouldn't be good 40k players and bad 40k players either. But there are, and it doesn't take skill to roll dice, so it must be for some other reason.

I think I probably prefer Warhammer, but that's a totally different argument.

Darkhorse