PDA

View Full Version : Help identifying old empire wizard

TheLionReturns
12-04-2007, 10:22
I'm not sure if this is the right section and apologise if not.

I am doing a sale of all my old WFB and 40K models partly for health reasons because most are lead and partly as an excuse to get some shiny new ones. Anyway I stumbled across this old Empire Wizard which I cannot remember buying. I think it may have come free with a White Dwarf or something around the mid 90's. Anyway the pic is below and if anyone can shed any light on this model ie was it from a white dwarf? which one? is it meant to represent a particular college of magic? etc I would be grateful. There is a pic of the model as an attachment.

This is my first time posting an image so not sure if it will work ok.

Jedi152
12-04-2007, 10:23
It did come free with a WD, and was part of the plastic wizard boxed set.

They're quite highly regarded as some of the better wizard models - probably because they look like wizards should, not waving swords and other 'fighty' stuff.

I think it was a gold (metal) wizard.

squiggoth
12-04-2007, 13:17
He's still available in the "Wizards" toyboxes that you can find at independant retailers, together with a bunch of other plastic Wizards (from Warhammer Quest and Talisman).
Most of them are still pretty good models, especially considering that they were made in the time when plastic units were mostly ugly, badly detailed and stiff-posed. :)

I'm not sure which College this guy represents .... I've been using him as a BloodBowl head coach.

enyoss
12-04-2007, 14:56
Definitely a wizard from the Gold Order. As Jedi says, they came free with WD ages ago (I'm pretty sure it was the June 1996 UK copy). Didn't know they were sold overwise though... we learn something new everyday I suppose :).