PDA

View Full Version : Are battle bikes a bit too retro?

Biff Gunhed
17-04-2007, 13:15
Having only played the game since the start of third edition, it's always struck me as somewhat odd that bikes are an element of many of the armies in 40K when they are quite a rarity in other examples of science fiction warfare. Apart from the ubiquitous Nazi bikes with sidecars in so many movies, I'm not really aware of bikes being overly used for military purposes in real life, though I'm no expert in that field...

So I wonder, are bikes in 40K just a product of it being created in the 80s, when biker culture was "cool"? Or are they really just a science-fiction-equivalent of the mounted knights in fantasy?

One of the reasons Squats went away is because they were based a bit too much on bad biker movies of the 80s. We're still going through the gradual fade-out of the dodgy 80s hairstyles on miniatures, but bikes are probably here to stay.

Has anyone else had the same thoughts on bikes and their somewhat dated feel?

Eniac
17-04-2007, 13:21
I never felt that terestrial bikes in 40k really ever had a place to be honest. How does a biker fight in cc whilst still on his bike? Etc etc etc.

It looks cool and that is about it. I can see why GW chose to keep them.

Zedric
17-04-2007, 13:23
I do think it's part of a holdover from when 40k was a little less serious, a little less grim. It was simply for "cool" points, I think.

ehlijen
17-04-2007, 13:59
What about the return of the Jedi? That movie had bikes. Jetbikes grant you, but bikes nonetheless. They had to downtech them a bit for the rustic feel of the Imperium I guess.

Templar Ben
17-04-2007, 14:00
Cool goes a long way. When I was with the Teams we used to drive desert patrol vehicles (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Desert_Patrol_Vehicle).

http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/systems/ground/images/dpv_lsvbugg.jpg
http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/systems/ground/images/dpv_pi051602a1.jpg