PDA

View Full Version : "Back in my day..."

CryoMax
22-04-2007, 19:02
"Back in my day..." Heh, things were so much different. I've been playing this game for almost 20 years now. A good proportion of the people on this board and who play these days probably have never seen a copy of Rogue Trader in person (and fewer still who can spell "Rogue" properly ;) )

I was wondering what parts of the old systems (not just Rogue Trader) people miss, or that, if you told someone today about it, they would look at you funny, and think you were lying...

I mean gems like:

* Space Marines could be equipped with Shuriken Catapults.
* There was an official army list that had Humans, Squats, and Eldar together.
* You used to pay points for a random roll on an equipment list.
* Imperial Guard used to have Beastmen troops.
* Marines and Guard used to have access to Robots, and there were actually rules for "programming" the robots, which defined how they moved around the battlefield...

Personally, I really miss the Human Bombs from the Imperial Guard army lists... Troops you could decide to simply explode, like a guided grenade...

Anyone else have any favorite trivia around the "old stuff"?

...Paul

Acolyte of Bli'l'ab
22-04-2007, 19:06
Back in my day...Admech didnt even look like they were human at all back then...

Back in my day...their were Space Slaan, Jokaero and Zoats :P

chrome_ghoul
22-04-2007, 19:10
Ahh yes, I love olde fashioned wierdeness!

I loved the suggestions for terrain at the back of rogue trader, like lakes of honey produced by massive insects.

Different attacks for tentacles and claws on big gribbly things. IIRC the catachan devil had a bite , two big claws, a couple of small claws, and a tail.
There were different arcs for them too, you could attack people all around with a tentacle but only to your front with the claws.

Hexagonal bases too, I loved those things!

Revlid
22-04-2007, 19:10

Heh, they still do. Abhumans.

Coasty
22-04-2007, 19:19