PDA

View Full Version : Future of Army Lists

Rogal
02-05-2007, 03:41
I have seen a few folks upset about combat squads and this got me looking at all the codax's. I wonder if all current codaxes will now be redone to having units in multiples of 5. I ask this cause could this change the make up of forces, but more importantly, will this change most armies composition form a collectors point of view. I collect a little bit of everything and try to build 1000 to 2000 points of everything (granted ive been collecting for 20 years). Now I know most armies will always loose a few modles here and there from edition to edition, but could the current Eldar, Tau, and Nids army lists also get hit with this as well? My goal is to collect armies with the least amount of remodling to keep a force current as well as competive. Does anyone else see this as a problem? Again from a collecting units point of view, not as much play balance?

Templar Ben
02-05-2007, 03:57
I don't see why it would go beyond SM. IG troops (except for grenadiers storm toopers) are in 10 man squads. I could more likely see having squads come in multiples of whatever is in a box. So multiples of 8 for gaunts and so forth.

If you are just collecting and not worried about play I really can't see much of an issue.

cailus
02-05-2007, 04:01
I doubt they will restrict those armies. Marines have a specific background that has been ignored sicne 3rd edition. Tau, Eldar and Nids all fit into their background quite well.

Kiro
02-05-2007, 04:25
The only minor quibble I have is the traditional trio of Tau battlesuits, it should be bumped up to 4, since the Tau use a base-4 system, and this is already reflected in the common 12-Tau Firewarrior teams, I suppose that was merely an afterthought on the designer's part though.

AmKhaibitu
02-05-2007, 04:49
Do they really use a base 4 system where 10 base4 equals 5 in base10?

Iceheart2112
02-05-2007, 06:21