PDA

View Full Version : New Guy

NickWeed
19-07-2007, 03:54
I want to start epic and was wondering if the imperials would be good to start out or if there is a better choice.

Morg
19-07-2007, 07:49
Imperial guard is a perfect beginner army. They are easily available and do offer a wide range of tactical options.

If you are into less shooty armies I would recommend you to go for the Orks.

Elyrioth
19-07-2007, 10:04
Orks/Imperials are the perfect beginner army. I started on Eldar I did ok but only cos I was an experieced gamer in other games and scales and even then I had disasters starting out. Not only are the easy to start with they have a level of suptle strategic complexity that you can use as you get more experienced. Alternatively use as a sledge hammer!! Get the forge world Reaver and Warhound if you are collecting!! Also nice and handy to paint if you are not great with 6mm scale; like me!!

thunderwolf
03-08-2007, 22:43
Sorry for the thread hijack, but I'm also a newbie, so it seemed better than starting a new thread to ask a similar question.

Having been a fan of Space Wolves since I got into this whole malarkey years ago, I'd like to collect a great company at epic scale. Is there a special army list for the Sons of Russ, or do people just use regular Marine rules? I know the White Scars have a list, which makes me hopeful that SW do too, but my google-fu is throwing up nothing, really.

Also, whilst I know it really only depends on your opponent, is it commonly acceptable to mix Imperials with Marines? I quite fancy using both, and having the marines as the elite strike force they're supposed to be, as opposed to the entire army, especially at the scale Epic represents.

Hena
04-08-2007, 05:15