PDA

View Full Version : Why play Blood Angels?

LonelyPenguin
17-08-2007, 17:31
hey hey, my brother recently took an interest in space marines and decided to try blood angels, he lost twice to me playing the new chaos codex, I won by just about 500 points in a 1500 battle

from what I noticed, blood angels seem overpriced and don't get enough for what they cost, we had about the same number of models and all of mine were cult marines and blood angels just seem strange to me...

What are their advantages over playing normal space marines? thanks :)

silveryfox
17-08-2007, 17:35
Death Company!

Lots of Assault Marines, Baal Predator and well, lots of things...

Ktotwf
17-08-2007, 17:35
Well, one of their advantages is being pretty damn cool. Which is ALWAYS the main consideration when choosing an army.

If I was going to play SM (and as a staunch Guard soldier, I cringe at the thought) it would either be Blood Angels or the even cooler Black Templars.

Captain Micha
17-08-2007, 17:41
Blood Angels have a new dex released in white dwarf articles... do not look at that old one at all. As they are quite improved and rebalanced.

Sparda
17-08-2007, 17:49
Well, for one, their cool. For two- you dont need to buy a codex, so you have $20 more to but models. Another plus is that the Death Company Is a free unit with rending!(thats why the squads cost a little more, But remember that the squads come with a free veteran Seargrant) You can take Assault squads as troops and elites, so thats pretty cool. Infact, I intend to swich to blood angels this Christmas because of the changes:D

mostholycerebus
17-08-2007, 17:55
Death Company, Baal Pred, Land Speeders with good weapon configs, Mephiston. People have said they work best as a counter-charge army, and using their speed to focus assault at weak points.

willydstyle
17-08-2007, 17:59
I've always been a devotee of Khorne, but if I were to go loyalist, the BA's would be my men. They're just a step away from berzerkers anyways :)