In the new rules for Invocation of Nehek it says, "some units may be raised over their starting value."

Now what does some mean? The only reason it is confusing me is because later on in the book it has bloodline upgrade powers to be able to gain +1 to the raised vaule of skeletons, dire wolves, and one other unit(sorry forgot). Though it also says in addition to this +1 you are now able to raise these units above starting strength.

Are you able to upgrade these units beyond starting strength without this upgrade? Is it that only Zombies can be raised above starting vaule without an upgrade? The some is really throwing me off with the upgrades as well.

Thanks in advance.