Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Of ICs & Retinues

  1. #1
    Banned Ravenheart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,915

    Of ICs & Retinues

    I picked up this bit of info on B&C, that afaik wasn't mentoned here yet:

    Quote Originally Posted by Angelust, on B&C
    Oh, and here's an interesting tid-bit - If your IC has a RETINUE, than it is no longer considered an IC in combat but becomes like a unit UPGRADE. I'm considering brushing up my Inquisitors....
    Quote Originally Posted by Angelust
    ie with retinue bought from their description, ie inquisitors and grand masters, count as an upgrade in combat like vet Sargent
    Can someone confirm this? Sounds quite useful.

  2. #2

    Re: Of ICs & Retinues

    Yes. I skimmed through the rulebook on Friday at a local gaming store. I remember looking through the IC section.

    1. ICs must be in base contact with an enemy unit to attack in H2H, essentially just like it is now.

    2. ICs cannot be within two inches (coherency) of a unit without joining the unit. ICs not within coherency of a unit can be picked out in shooting.

    3. ICs that have retinues they cannot leave then count as "upgrade characters" to the unit and essentially lose IC status.

    I see this helping IG a little, and can be abused a little in the current Space Marine 'dex (and Black Templars, iirc) if the player opts for a beefy command squad retinue . Should help Daemonhunters too, but they need all the help they can get. GW is moving away from retinues though, so this will be self correcting problem.
    The object of the game is to win. The point of the game is to have fun. Never confuse the two.

  3. #3
    Chapter Master Azzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Staug, FL, USA
    Posts
    2,538

    Re: Of ICs & Retinues

    Quote Originally Posted by TaintedSpam View Post
    Yes. I skimmed through the rulebook on Friday at a local gaming store. I remember looking through the IC section.

    1. ICs must be in base contact with an enemy unit to attack in H2H, essentially just like it is now.
    I've been hearing differently. That is, that IC can attack (or be attacked) if they're within 2" of a model in BTB contact.
    --Kyn

    Armies: Waaagh! Žursblóš, Hivefleet Orochi

  4. #4

    Re: Of ICs & Retinues

    Perhaps I read it incorrectly... (wouldn't be the first time - and I was in a rush) but I seem to remember seeing very similar IC rules (regarding CC) as there are currently. Next time I get a chance at the book, I'll double-check.
    The object of the game is to win. The point of the game is to have fun. Never confuse the two.

  5. #5
    Chaplain .H.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The U-easy-ana
    Posts
    184

    Re: Of ICs & Retinues

    The rule is definitely the same as it is now, the IC acts as a separate unit in assaults.

    Pg. 49 says: IC are always treated as separate single-model units even if they have joined a unit. And have to be in BTB contact to attack or be attacked.
    My Armies:
    The 10,000 Immortals (Necrons): 28-18-4
    The Pink Angels (Emperor's Children): 3-6-0
    Order Of Our Blessed Lady Virgin (Witch Hunters): 3-3-0
    Legio Glacialis (Vampire Counts): 4-8-1
    The Daughters Of Sublimation (Slaanesh Daemons of Chaos): 5-1-1
    Imrryr's Children (Dark Elves) 5-1-1

  6. #6
    Brother Sergeant
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Spanish fork Utah
    Posts
    35

    Re: Of ICs & Retinues

    The only problem with IC in a unit is that when you declare a charge with that unit you must resolve the charge immediatly. You must also move the IC into H2H first if at all possible. Note under the new movement rules you can no longer move over friendly models bases. There MUST be gap they can pass through without touching another model.

    Another note, an IC can participate in H2H as long as he is within 2 inches of a friendly model in H2H. However, saves are allocated at the owners descretion.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •