pre-thread disclaimer:
Okay folks. This is an opinion thread. That means things that are discussed in here will not necessarily be pure canon. In all honesty, this is really more from a literary standpoint than it is from an in-universe fluff standpoint.

When I started playing Warhammer (not too long ago, mind you. I'm not Rogue Trader Veteran like some of the gents on here. Not old enough Actually around the time 3rd Edition was released) I gobbled up fluff like nobody's business. And in the early stages, I formed this image of who the Emperor was, and it fixed in my head. He was quite the dude during his time. By far the greatest man to have ever lived in the Galaxy. He was a leader like no other, the finest tactician, the most brilliant orator, the genius in all things scientific, practical, and theoretical, and one of, if not the, most powerful psychic beings to boot. But in spite of all this, he was a human being. Not some ancient warp spawned entity of incalculable power and device, not some god given mortal form.

He was a human being.

Through his natural born talents, lifetime of study and practice, and creativity and a bit of luck, he set about his great task of making Humanity the dominant race of the galaxy, and damn near accomplished it too. He dragged his species out of the darkness of the age and brought about centuries of enlightenment and expansion. He was the epitome of what humanity could accomplish, through ambition and drive. The very definition of self-made success.