"When Kairos comes to generate his spells, his left head may choose a total of four spells from the Lores of Life, Metal, Light and Heavens...." and so on.

My friend is saying you still have to roll for the spells, you just pick what lores you want to roll on and how many times (either four times on one, or once on each etc.). For me the key word here is choose.

However, his argument has some weight: from the Ogre Kingdoms army book "Butchers and Slaughtermasters .... at least one of them must choose his spells from the Lore of the Great Maw."

Here we see the word choose again, except this time we know for sure that Slaughtermasters cannot cherry pick their spells. This has obviously led my friend to believe that Kairos must in fact roll for his spells.

Personally I'm inclined to believe he can pick spells without rolling, due to how he worked previously. In the old book it was worded exactly the same, except there was a sentence that confirmed he did not roll for spells.

What do you guys think? Is my friend being an ass?