CYBERTHEURGY

The Dark Mechaniucm's Cybertheurgists are privy to ancient secrets from the Dark Age of Technology, a time when the un-living phalanxes of Mankind's creations shattered forgotten alien empires to carve humanity's first empire within the stars. Although much of this lore has been lost of expressly forbidden, such fragments of knowledge allow the Cybertheurgists to fashion and maintain a small but powerful, cadre of battle-automata for their personal, private wars. Such is the dark arcana of Cybertheurgy; however, it is not without its risks, as what is awakened may slip the leash of its master's control with disastrous consequences.

Using Cybertheurgy
  • A model with the Cybertheurgy special rule may use a single power in the Shooting phase instead of making a shooting attack, and may not do so if they are engaged in an assault or Falling Back.
  • One power effect may be selected from the list that follows each time Cybertheurgy is used and, unless specified in the power, a single model from the same Detachment with the Cybernetica Cortex special rule within 12” must be selected as the target of the power's effect. Note that no line of sight is required and the power may be used on a model already in assault.
  • Unless noted, the effect lasts until the start of the Shooting phase of the Detachment's subsequent turn.
  • Place a suitable marker next to the affected Battle-automata for the duration of the power to indicate its effect.

Activating a Power
  • In order to use a power, the Cybertheurgist must successfully pass a Leadership test. If the test is passed the power takes effect. If the test is failed, the power does not take effect.
  • Depending on the strength and difficulty of the power, a penalty may be imposed on the Leadership value of the model making the test (this is applied always to the characteristic value being tested, not the dice result).
  • If a Cybertheurgy test is failed and a result of a 12 (a double '6') is rolled, the power as both failed and gone awry. If this occurs, roll, immediately on the Cybertheurgy Mishap table.


CYBERTHEURGY MISHAP TABLE
Should a model be the subject of a Cybertheurgy Mishap roll on the following table and immediately apply the result to the targeted model.
D6
Effect
1-3
Signal Corruption: The model may only fire Snap Shots and fights with Weapon Skill 1 in assaults for the next Game Turn.
4-5
Corrosive Paradox: The model suffers a single automatic Wound with no saves of any kind possible.
6
Malifica: The machine-spirit rebels and the models gains spiteful self-awareness. The Battle-automata is now destroyed for the purpose of Victory points if relevant and is no longer part of the controlling player's force. If part of a unit, the Battle-automata is split from that unit and placed out of coherency with it. The Battle-automata is still used in the previously controlling player's turn, but will from now on move towards and shoot at the closest unit each turn and then assault that same unit if able. Both sides may no target the Battle-automata if the desire.
THE POWERS OF CYBERTHEURGY
Note: In the following powers, a model referred to as the 'chosen' model, must be a model with the Cybernetica Cortex special rule which is part of the same Detachment unless otherwise stated.

  • Rite of Celerity .................................................. Modifier: None
    The chosen model gains +2 to its Initiative characteristic for the duration of the power's effect.

  • Rite of Eternity .................................................. Modifier: None
    The chosen model immediately regains one Wound it had lost previously in the game.

  • Rite of Fury .................................................. Modifier: -1
    The chosen model gains +2 to its Attacks characteristic for the duration of the power's effect.

  • Rite of Destruction .................................................. Modifier: -1
    The chosen model may immediately fire twice with its Shooting weapons against a single target unit as its shooting attack. However, if this power is successful, the affected model may not use its ranged weapons again until after its subsequent Shooting phase. This includes Overwatch.

  • Rite of Dread Castigation .................................................. Modifier: -2
    Unlike the other listed powers, this ability may only be used against an enemy model with the Cybernetica Cortex special rule within range and represents a form of attack rather than augmentation. If the power is successfully used, both the Cyberthethurgist and the controlling player of the model targeted each roll a D6 and add the Leadership value of the Cybertheurgist in the case of the attacking player, and the target model in the case of the defending player. The target model suffers one automatic Wound with no saves of any kind possible for each point that the attacker's total score exceeds that of the defender's total score.

    If an attempt at the Rite of Dread Castigation incurs a roll on the Cybertheurgy Mishap table, the Corrosive Paradox result occurs automatically, except that it is the Cybertheurgist, not the target model, that suffers the damage.

  • Rite of Immolation .................................................. Modifier: -3
    By overcoming the safety protocols and self-preservation systems of the automata's reactor core, the Cybertheurgist forces the machine creature to catastrophically self-destruct. If the power is used successfully, the chosen model is destroyed, immediately removed from play and replaced by a Large Blast marker. All models under the marker suffer a hit with a Strength value equivalent to the affected model's Toughness and an AP equal to the affected model's armour save.

    Should a failed attempt at Rite of Immolation results in a Cybertheurgy Mishap, the Malifica result occurs automatically and there is no need to roll on the table.