Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Fight to the death stratagem

  1. #1
    Commander Benigno (WE)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    512

    Fight to the death stratagem

    Hello all!

    We've been discussing at my 40k group about this stratagem:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fight.png 
Views:	39 
Size:	49.5 KB 
ID:	243245

    and the issue was about if you use d6 to roll d3 as stated in the core book, does a 1-2 roll in the d6 pass automatically the morale test or will that only happen with a 1 on the d6 despite you are dividing it by half?

    The arguments were that dividing by half is a modifier and then only a natural 1 on the dice roll would pass the morale test, but some others say that the d3 calculations are not a modification and both rolls, 1 and 2 must be considered a roll of one and pass the morale test automatically.

    What are your thoughts? Is there a FAQ somewhere to clarify this?

    Thanks!

  2. #2

    Re: Fight to the death stratagem

    Quote Originally Posted by Benigno (WE) View Post
    Hello all!

    We've been discussing at my 40k group about this stratagem:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fight.png 
Views:	39 
Size:	49.5 KB 
ID:	243245

    and the issue was about if you use d6 to roll d3 as stated in the core book, does a 1-2 roll in the d6 pass automatically the morale test or will that only happen with a 1 on the d6 despite you are dividing it by half?

    The arguments were that dividing by half is a modifier and then only a natural 1 on the dice roll would pass the morale test, but some others say that the d3 calculations are not a modification and both rolls, 1 and 2 must be considered a roll of one and pass the morale test automatically.

    What are your thoughts? Is there a FAQ somewhere to clarify this?

    Thanks!
    GW rules disputes are second to none in their sheer strangeness.

    Even without knowing anything other than the text offered, it is clear that whatever the normal morale rules are, the result requirements aren't changed by switching dice.

    Thus if you need a 1 to succeed, you still need a one, you're just using smaller dice.

    GW does this all the time (or at least did), allowing extra dice to be thrown and letting players pick which ones to count, or giving bonus range based on additional dice being added.

    Clear language is not one of GW's strong suits, but this one is pretty easy to figure out.
    Want a better way to fight fantasy battles? Try the revised and expanded Conqueror: Fields of Victory!
    Do you like Star Wars but hate the prequels? Ever wonder what could have happened if someone competent wrote them? Look no further.
    A proud player of 2nd edition 40k.
    Check out my bestselling book about the Spanish Civil War.

  3. #3
    Commander Rogue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    626

    Re: Fight to the death stratagem

    Quote Originally Posted by Benigno (WE) View Post
    Hello all!

    We've been discussing at my 40k group about this stratagem:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fight.png 
Views:	39 
Size:	49.5 KB 
ID:	243245

    and the issue was about if you use d6 to roll d3 as stated in the core book, does a 1-2 roll in the d6 pass automatically the morale test or will that only happen with a 1 on the d6 despite you are dividing it by half?

    The arguments were that dividing by half is a modifier and then only a natural 1 on the dice roll would pass the morale test, but some others say that the d3 calculations are not a modification and both rolls, 1 and 2 must be considered a roll of one and pass the morale test automatically.

    What are your thoughts? Is there a FAQ somewhere to clarify this?

    Thanks!
    I still have the downloaded rules but on Page 5 it states what a D3 means which is as quoted "D3=D6 divided by 2 (rounding up)." I would contend that a roll of 1 and 2 equals 1, 3 and 4 equals 2, and a 5 and 6 equals a 3.
    Quote Originally Posted by fluffymcfluff View Post
    Warhammer for me is more fun when I can drink, smoke and swear at my dice.
    Quote Originally Posted by Commissar Vaughn View Post
    And dont tell me the rules are "Designed" to work better at certain points values, because the rules are many things but Designed aint one of them...
    My miniature blog. http://tinylegions.blogspot.com/
    www.classichammer.com - New Games with Old Rules

  4. #4
    Librarian MadHatter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale FL
    Posts
    471

    Re: Fight to the death stratagem

    Quote Originally Posted by Rogue View Post
    I still have the downloaded rules but on Page 5 it states what a D3 means which is as quoted "D3=D6 divided by 2 (rounding up)." I would contend that a roll of 1 and 2 equals 1, 3 and 4 equals 2, and a 5 and 6 equals a 3.

    My gaming group would count 1-2 =1. 3-4 =2, 5-6= 3. so yes, 1 and 2 mean the pass. since technically there would be no 4, 5, 6. you could order a custom D3. and solve the problem altogether.
    Victims Aren't we All!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •