Hello all!

We've been discussing at my 40k group about this stratagem:
Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fight.png 
Views:	20 
Size:	49.5 KB 
ID:	243245

and the issue was about if you use d6 to roll d3 as stated in the core book, does a 1-2 roll in the d6 pass automatically the morale test or will that only happen with a 1 on the d6 despite you are dividing it by half?

The arguments were that dividing by half is a modifier and then only a natural 1 on the dice roll would pass the morale test, but some others say that the d3 calculations are not a modification and both rolls, 1 and 2 must be considered a roll of one and pass the morale test automatically.

What are your thoughts? Is there a FAQ somewhere to clarify this?