Being a summary of the most widely recognized formal period classification of Warhammer Fantasy Battles (WHFB) and Age of Sigmar (AoS), used for both forums and Facebook groups:

- Editions 1-3 of WHFB are Oldhammer (1983-1992), roughly the era of Bryan Ansell.

- Editions 4-8 of WHFB are Middlehammer (1992-2015), the era of Tom Kirby.

- All editions of AoS are Newhammer (2015-), the era of Kevin Rountree.